Those We Love Most

Drawing on some of my personal experiences, THOSE WE LOVE MOST explores the ways in which a close-knit family is broken and made whole again after one pivotal moment results in the ultimate tragedy.

On a warm June day, Maura Corrigan is walking with her nine-year-old son, James, as he rides his bike to school when the unthinkable happens.  He darts on to the street and is hit by Alex, a 17-year-old neighbor.  What unfolds in the wake of the accident is an intricate web of relationships, secrets, and betrayals that ultimately create a story of resilience.

Told through the perspectives of two generations within the family, THOSE WE LOVE MOST chronicles how an unimaginable sudden twist of fate forces each family member to confront their choices, examine their mistakes, and fight for their most valuable relationships. It raises the age-old question: Why do we hurt the ones we love?

At once thoughtful, penetrating and engrossing, the characters live with you long after you’ve finished the novel.  This debut family saga that will satisfy readers of The Summer We Fell Apart, We Were the Mulvaneys, and Saint Maybe.

View Those We Love Most trailer.

Reviews

“..THOSE WE LOVE MOST and it grabbed me from the first page..”Gayle King, O, The Oprah Magazine, September 2012

“Overall, this is solid contemporary fiction, sure to please readers who enjoy Sue Monk Kidd and Anna Quindlen.”-Library Journal Book Review, July 2012

“THOSE WE LOVE MOST becomes..fresher, sharper and more indelible.”-Entertainment Weekly, September 2012

“Woodruff proves herself as a novelist by keeping us turning pages to find out.”-People Magazine, September 17, 2012–4 Stars!

“Woodruff firmly establishes herself as a novelist with Those We Love Most.”-New York Press

   
  

      

 

 

Purchase this book:


 

Available in Paperback:


 

Now Available in Audio book!
View Here

Interviews:

Karen White Audiobooks, 11/1/12 Read Article

Glen Falls Post Star, 9/23/12 Read Article

Northwest Indiana Times,  9/19/12 Read Article

Break Thru Radio, 9/15/12 Listen to the Stream 

BiblioStar.TV, 9/11/12 Watch the Video

HuffPost Live, 9/10/12 Watch the Video

Huffington Post, 9/10/12 Read Article

The Joan Hamburg Radio Show, 9/10/12 Listen to the Stream

Daily Shot Show/Ali Wentworth, 9/10/12 Watch the Video

Blog Talk Radio, 9/7/12 Listen to the Stream

CBS This Morning Show, Those We Love Most, 9/7/12 Watch the Video

USA Today, Lee Woodruff’s ‘real life” touches ‘Those We Love Most’, 9/5/12 Watch the Video

 

 

Blogger Reviews:

Mindel’s Kindle for the Rogue Reader
http://theroguereaderoffthehiddenpage.blogspot.com/

The BookReporter
www.bookreporter.com/reviews/those-we-love-most

 

2 Many Books
tammyunderhill.blogspot.com/2012/08/those-we-love-most-by-lee-woodruff.html


*Head Butler
www.headbutler.com/books/fiction/those-we-love-most

 

*Spolier Alert

“Lee Woodruff has written a beautiful, humorous, poignant page-turner about the complexities of love and marriage, tricky family dynamics, and the power of the human heart. Everything you want in a great read is here, including wonderful storytelling that builds to a satisfying ending. Loved it.”
—Adriana Trigiani


“Flawless, breathtaking, and oh-so-real, THOSE WE LOVE THE MOST is a beautifully written book about family, love, betrayal, forgiveness, and how we pick up the pieces in the wake of unthinkable tragedy. When I turned the last page, I found myself missing the characters already. I can’t recommend this book highly enough.”—
Harlan Coben

 

“THOSE WE LOVE MOST is a poignant, heartwarming story that follows you beyond its pages. Woodruff skillfully makes the Corrigan family real—fallible and vulnerable, ultimately strengthened by the undeniable power of love. I grieved and cheered for them all, and finished the book with a big smile on my face.”—Catherine Coulter

 

Those We Love Most is an engrossing story about family fragility, rupture, and redemption. Woodruff’s beautiful and unflinching portrayal of the grief, betrayal, guilt, tenacity, and love that engulf this family in the aftermath of a devastating tragedy will keep you turning pages till the end.”
—Sue Monk Kidd

 

“I opened Those We Love Most when my plane took off from Boston, and didn’t look up again until I landed in Miami. In between, I cried and smiled and nodded, and turned pages faster and faster. It’s one of those novels.”
—Ann Hood